A working iPhone/iPod Touch toolchain on Leopard

After realising that the iPhone/iPod Touch SDK isn’t going to do what I want it to do yet, I am experimenting with various ways of doing what I actually want to do — run programs on my iPod Touch, not a simulator.

My first try is drudge’s HOWTO build the toolchain on Leopard, and it looks good so far, which is to say that I’ve got “hello world” running on my iPod. It seems to include everything you’d need.

The next big question is how to package things up for installation onto the device. For now I’m going to assume that people can scp things to their device and ssh into it (or use a terminal) to do the installation. I will likely get the Installer packages built eventually, though.

Leave a Reply

