“Hello world” to bus error in no time flat

Using xcodebuild I figured out the command line to build a simple “hello world” in C for the ARMv6 in my iPod Touch. After scping it into place it faulted on me with a bus error. I don’t know off-hand if the ARMv6 can actually raise a bus error, or whether that particular error is overridden to actually mean something else entirely.

I also have no way of figuring out if the executable is able to find its shared libraries, as otool is conspicuously absent on the iPod, and I don’t know how to check out ARM binaries on my Macbook. My guess at this point is that the Aspen 1.2 SDK will only generate executables for OS 1.2 and higher, so 1.1.3 won’t work.

One response to ““Hello world” to bus error in no time flat

  1. hey, about the error your getting. The apps will only run in aspen right now. we’re not special enough to actually run them on the phone yet. I think its coming tho.

Leave a Reply

