Design Patterns in Ruby

Now that I’m done reading Geekonomics, I’m on to reading a few books in parallel. One of them is Design Patterns in Ruby by Russ Olsen. I’ve never read much on design patterns before. Sure, I can name a few and even implement a few of the basic ones, but that doesn’t win you much if you want to use them effectively.

Am I sure that design patterns are the way to go? Heck no, but it doesn’t hurt to learn something new. It can be hard to tell the difference between fashion and function these days, so the best way to go forward is to read it and see what sticks.

So far (a couple of sections into chapter three) what’s stuck with me the most is the reminder that composition beats inheritance for many uses. I’d been (naively) constructing a class hierarchy for an application that was inheritance-based and it was the right reminder at the right time.

Leave a Reply

