Responses to search queries

Something I enjoy doing every now and then is looking through the search terms that bring people to my site or my blog. Many are rather mundane, but there are always a few that are interesting. Here are my responses to a couple of them.

hiveminder windows mobile 6: I just got a new mobile with Windows Mobile 6 Professional on it, so I was actually able to try this out. I haven’t tried anything too fancy, but it seems to work just fine, so long as you are using the Hiveminder mobile interface. I haven’t tried the desktop interface on my mobile yet, and probably won’t.

opera 8.65 is too expensive: No, it’s not. It’s a very well-designed browser, and USD25 is a pretty good deal for software on most mobile platforms. I tested the software for over a week before I bought it and made sure it did all of the things that I wanted it to do. I ran into very few problems, which is another thing that sets it apart from much other mobile software — I seem to have a knack for killing pieces of software others have no problem with. I’ve been using Opera for months on my mobile with very few hiccups.

If you’re really dead-set on the opinion that Opera isn’t worth the money, simply use the browser that came with your device for a while longer. It won’t take that long to convince yourself. The only stock mobile browser that I have found to be worth its weight in gold is Safari as shipped on the iPod Touch (and presumably the iPhone), but even that has the price of the mobile device attached to it.

Finally, if you’re absolutely sure that a USD25 browser is a travesty, write your own. That’ll show ’em.

Leave a Reply

