Mergansers munching millet?

Okay, so the title is going a little far to get an alliteration, but I saw at least two female common mergansers (Mergus merganser) hanging out among crowds of dabblers very close to shore and very close to people. I’ve seen that once before at the same location (Lost Lagoon, in Stanley Park), but I’ve never seen the mergansers go for bread until today. I was pretty sure they were only interested in fish, but I guess you learn something new every day.

Aside from the mergansers there were a good number of common goldeneyes (Bucephala clangula), a couple of American wigeons (Anas americana), some American coots (Fulicana americana), and the usual smattering of mallards and gulls. The bonus birds of the day were some female and a male canvasback (Aythya valisineria) and various greater and lesser scaups (Aythya marila and Aythya affinis, respectively).

I got a few potentially good shots. I’ll put them on Flickr when I get the time.

Leave a Reply

