4GB of happiness for cheap

Today I sold a KVM I wasn’t using a bought 4GB of RAM for my Macbook. This maxes the unit, which makes me happy — getting this much RAM into it was one of the few reasons I bought the new Macbook. I haven’t done any sort of serious testing of the new RAM yet, but I intend to run compiles all night to try to get it to fail quickly if it fails at all.

I’ve still got around 60GB of hard disk space free, so I’m in no hurry to get a 250GB or 320GB drive for my laptop just yet. We’ll see how that number holds now that I have enough RAM to do some serious virtualisation. Tim Bray reports that new Solaris builds are looking pretty good, so I’ll have to give those a try.

Leave a Reply

