Ant and JUnit

Now that I’m through as much of the Java tutorial as I need to be, I’ve started learning about Ant and JUnit, which I understand will serve me well. I’ve used their analogues in many other languages, and it seems that Java especially needs a tool like Ant that understands how Java sources fit together.

By stealing sections of tutorials and cookbooks I’ve put together a build.xml file that almost works the way I want it to. It’ll be even more useful when I actually have a main class for my little project.

I’m most interested in JUnit at this point. I’m not expecting to go full-on TDD, but I do want to get tests in place to catch the early mistakes.

Leave a Reply

