Java tutorials hurt my brain

Over the past couple of days I’ve been reading through the Java tutorials, and I must admit my brain hurts a bit. On one hand it feels a bit like Smalltalk, but on the other hand it’s still a mishmash of capitalisation, thousands of classes with a lot of overlap, and everything else I usually cite when I explain why I try to avoid Java. The nice part is that things seem to have gotten a bit faster since the last time I looked. This could also be explained by the difference between a G3 600MHz iBook with 384MB of RAM and a Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz Macbook with 2GB of RAM, but I’ll give the Java crowd the benefit of the doubt, seeing as I am using Java 1.6 instead of 1.3 or 1.4.

I started writing a tiny amount of code for my diabetic information tracking software today, so hopefully that will continue and expand. I’ll wrap that up in a few days when I’ve added a bit more and make another drop.

Leave a Reply

