Mixing things up a little

I mentioned the other day that I was going to stick with Humalog because it was the devil I knew. I have since figured that I’m changing everything right now anyway (pump to pen and insulin detemir to insulin glargine), I might as well give insulin aspart (NovoRapid) a go.

It’s too early to tell for sure, but my day-one impression is that it seems to do a better job of getting my mid-to-late afternoon highs under control. This is my biggest hurdle in getting my HbA1c under control, as far as I can tell.

I’m also going to start dosing my basal insulin at bedtime instead of in the morning. This will give me better coverage while I sleep, and if things fall a little short it will be in afternoon or evening when I’m checking my blood glucose levels and can correct it.

Depending on how my experiments go I may keep the insulin aspart when I go back on the pump. It will mean rejigging my basal profiles, but if it means a more responsive course of therapy, then so be it — it’s not a lot of effort for so much benefit.

Leave a Reply

