Gàidhlig galore (almost)

As I mentioned in yesterday’s entry, one of my missions for today was to hunt down some materials with which to start learning Gàidhlig again. I figured it would be a quick and easy errand, but it didn’t turn out that way.

It seems that it’s easier to find books on ancient Greek than to find one on Gàidhlig. I had been looking for books specifying Scottish Gaelic, but it seems that the current way is to refer to Gàidhlig as Gaelic and Gaeilge as Irish. It’s still hard to believe they don’t completely specify which is which, though.

In the end I found a book and two-CD set that will do me until an on-line order arrives. It should also be a good introduction for Robynne, who only knows a bit of Gaeilge. I’m excited to get started!

Leave a Reply

