Returning migrators at Lost Lagoon

Today was the first day in a few weeks that we were able to head out and see who was who down at Lost Lagoon in Stanley Park. The darkness of the day and some spitting rain kept the cameras from coming out, but it was certainly not wasted.

There were lots of birds I had been hoping to see. The highlights included hooded mergansers (Lophodytes cucullatus) showing off their crests, which Lo found pretty cool. Common goldeneyes (Bucephala clangula) abounded, and canvasbacks (Aythya valisineria) were there in good numbers. There were several American wigeons (Anas americana) and a few buffleheads (Bucephala albeola), too. I’m sure I’m forgetting a few, but it felt great to get out there again.

On our way back to the car we stopped in at the Stanley Park Ecological Society Nature House and checked it out. It was good to see it open again, as it had been closed for repair for quite a while. We struck up a conversation with the person on staff (whose name I don’t remember — oops!), and had a great look around. I left her with my e-mail address and a link to my Flickr page and a promise to send them full-size versions of any pictures they requested.

I can’t wait to get out there again, preferably with my camera. Rain, rain, go away!

Leave a Reply

