Wiki tagging

I installed another TWiki extension, as you can see at the top of the page. I have been looking at the websites I like to use and noticed that many of them have tagging features.

Though many people think of tags being primarily useful to visitors of a site I think they are probably most useful to me on this site. I expect most visitors will be brought to a specific topic by a search engine and disappear just as quickly. These are not quite the audience tagging addresses. If I have two years of blog entries, several dozen bird pages, a few hundred photos, and some other pages I could easily be looking at a thousand or more topics. Definitely not a Yahoo!-like number, but enough that I will need a bit of help finding my way around.

That being said, if the tags are generally useful then that’s good, too.

The only drawback is that the version of IE on Windows Mobile 5 doesn’t let me choose from existing tags when I want to add a tag to a topic. Not a huge deal, but it would be nice to be able to tag on my mobile. I’ll have to fool about with some HTML to see what part the browser is objecting to. It might also be interesting to see if there are alternative browsers for WM5.

Leave a Reply

